top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Nova

Silent Rhythms

Originally written sometime between the year 2000 and 2002


Stepping

Up

Down

Over me

Around me

But never

To me


Crossing legs

Hair tossing between fingers

Lips moving but never uttering a word

A word of silence

Language of dynamic proportion

A subtle glimpse of faith


Laying in his arms we create the perfect dreams

Never a toss or a turn but an uncomfortable moment

Tossing memories out and becoming untouched lovers

Until the morning painted itself all over the northern wall


I laid there again in silence

The only speaking the rhythmic sounds of our breath

Still strange


Strange

Like bad sugar

Strange

Like the aftertaste of the first kiss

Never had

Never tasted


Still

Just hope

Still legs crossing & fingers fumbling in hair

Still

Lips quivering but never saying a word


Still


Strange


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lash

How many masterpieces have I written in dreams that once awake are just smoke at the tips of my lashes

bottom of page