top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Nova

Choke

Originally written sometime between the year 2000 and 2002



Galileo's Home For Wayward Poets Open Mic Night c. Mid-2000s

I breathe in

And I break down the molecules of your words

Figure the distance of the silences in between

And take what I will of what nurtures


I breathe in

And I begin to write the equation

If factor A is healing, B is safety,

And C is happiness, solve for X

I have the formula and I’m almost there


I breathe in

And anything of significance I take in with breath

Until the air I exhale is of light and color

Pain and fear drip off me like the passing rain

And the orbiting emotions that complete who I am

Will never be shattered again


Breathe in

Exhale

Let go

Release


Breathe in


But the smog in this city is emotional

I stumble over immaculate feet and

Brush against the lips of gods on the

Way to finding the keys to unlock the door

And the only light I see is that which is

Emitted dimly from his window and the

Memory of “this is the beginning of foerver”

Perfection of white blankets on black asphalt

And a kiss softer than the snow that fell around us


So I try to breathe in

And I choke


Still trying to find a way out of this world I built around hid eyes

And create a universe around my heart

So I continue the work

And hold my breath

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Oceanographer

Originally published September 21, 2010 on Wordpress.com She stood there in the doorway as though she were waiting for a miracle to happen. Watching closely at the space as a whole through the screen

bottom of page