top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Nova

Dream Wings

Originally written sometime between the year 2000 and 2002


I woke up from lilac drop dream

Salt wet hair & mud encrusted feet

I reached for wings that were no longer there

So I walked


I walked until I heard clear melody and until the fog settled

Delirious laughter & a song of content

I walked until the stone beneath my feet turned to water &

the ones behind me sank to green


Then like christ I turned water to wine

Brought sugar to dry lips & apathy to tears

I walked until ink ran from my fingertips

And though my voice became silent to you

My words rang violently in your ears

Then with my hands held to the sky I sang for rain

Feet approaching shore

White grain to mesh with skin

Turning yellow from the sun

The sun becoming more intense

Until I sank into shade beneath the earth


Then I woke up

From lilac drop dream

Salt wet hair and mud encrusted feet

And I taught myself to fly again

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Oceanographer

Originally published September 21, 2010 on Wordpress.com She stood there in the doorway as though she were waiting for a miracle to happen. Watching closely at the space as a whole through the screen

bottom of page