top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Nova

Missing

Originally Published 24 January, 2008 on Facebook Notes


I'm missing spring like a lover who has gone. I remember so vividly the happiness and warmth it's always brought me. Nights of dancing in the rain, of the warm southern wind playing with my hair, days of green grass luncheons, swing set song sessions, covered up warmly in the suns rays for an outdoor nap.

Winter is no friend or lover at all. It's something of a cruel jailer who beats you with it's harsh frigid winds and forces you to stay confined within walls where the temperature is stabilized. It taunts you with sunlight and beautiful night skies that you cannot be outside to enjoy. You're slapped coldly in the face if you should dare try to roll down your windows in the sunlight. Winter and I are not friends and being in what seems to be it's unrelenting presence makes my longing for spring that much more intense. The call of the road has always been strong, the call of the ocean has always been overwhelming at times but never in my life has it been stronger. If spring won't come here, I want to go find spring... Maybe even find spring eternal.


I can still smell the mingling of grass and fresh rain and that overall smell that spring seems to have. I miss it so much it almost hurts. I want it to come back. I need it's warmth, it's comfort and it's freedom. I need tank tops, flip flops, skirts without tights, light jackets and windows down and sunroof open. I need the smile it brings to my face. I need the memories to be a present reality. I need it to be here yesterday.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Oceanographer

Originally published September 21, 2010 on Wordpress.com She stood there in the doorway as though she were waiting for a miracle to happen. Watching closely at the space as a whole through the screen

bottom of page