top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Nova

Untitled #42

Originally written sometime between the year 2000 and 2002


This is the city that I sleep in

Asleep at the wheel

The world lays its head on dreamcase pillow tops

And closes its eyes for lack of vision


When teardrop on iris spring open

Life slides down through open windows

And swinging doors

I let my hearts honey spill over 100 ears

Allow my body to be taken over by 90 to 220

Concrete beats per minute

And then the occasional wet vodka kiss

Hours upon minutes of stale seat conversation

Only to let pale blue skies take me home

Drunk with joy


I watch this city wake up

Hurried yet still dreaming

And this birds silence the symphony of their

Wings on the hum of electric vocal cords


So I let my eyes flutter

Lay my head on pillow top dreamscapes

Because this is the city I sleep in

Still waiting for a place I call home


Galileo's Open Mic Night c. 2001-ish

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Oceanographer

Originally published September 21, 2010 on Wordpress.com She stood there in the doorway as though she were waiting for a miracle to happen. Watching closely at the space as a whole through the screen

bottom of page