top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Nova

Volume

Originally written sometime between the year 2000 and 2002



Everything is louder in the dark

Tiny moments between sleep & consciousness

Breath resembles strong wind

Whispers like shouting

And the flutter of my eyes like an atom bomb


Everything is louder in the dark

Down to the soft floating footsteps

The sound of your hand in my hair

The subtle noise I make the my lips part


Childhood fantasy

Long forgotten obession

With record store memory

Square framed glasses

Classic coy stare

My reaction never quite full volume

but...


Everything is louder in the dark

Now more than ever

Now that voices

have turned to melody

Symphony to me left

Sonata to my right

An overture I can hear

Somewhere in the distance

Over it all

It all builds to crishindo

Brought to my knees

By the uncomfortable beauty


My thoughts roar

Like violent thunder

Your voice more powerful

Than infinite silence

My delicate sigh stronger

Than the voice of god


Strike a match

The volume goes down

Smoke escapes my lips

Fire dies


Closing song with no melody

Content & beautiful

Because everything is louder in the dark

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Oceanographer

Originally published September 21, 2010 on Wordpress.com She stood there in the doorway as though she were waiting for a miracle to happen. Watching closely at the space as a whole through the screen

bottom of page